Chanticleer Book Reviews is honored to announce the First Place Category Winners for the LARAMIE AWARDS 2014 for Western, Prairie, and Civil War Fiction, a division of Chanticleer Blue Ribbon Writing Competitions.


The Laramie  Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Western fiction. The First Place Category Winners will be recognized at the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala held in late September 2015.

Chanticleer Reviews is proud to be a literary affiliate of the Historical Novel Society.

The LARAMIE FIRST PLACE 2014 Award Winners are:

  • Historical: Rebecca Rockwell for The Last Desperado 
  • Jacqui Nelson for Between Heaven and Hell 
  • Contemporary Western: Jared McVay for Not on My Mountain
  • Adventure: Lorrie Farrelly  for Terms of Surrender
  • Classic: Ken Farmer and Buck Stienke for Nations
  • Debut Novel: Juliette Douglas for Freckled Venom Copperhead
  • Romance/Humorous: Jacqui Rogers for Much Ado About Miners
  • Civil War: Christi Corbett for Along the Way Home
  • Boys YA: Elizabeth Ward for Wolf Eye’s Silence
  • Blended Genre: Peggy L. Henderson for Come Home to Me
  • Drama: Michael J. Rouche for A River Divides: Book Two of Beyond the Wood
  • Literary Western: Theo Czuk for Heart Scarred